Team of 10 get nominated for 2018 European Championships

A total of 10 athletes have been named for the European Championships in Berlin, Germany from August 6-12.

Double world indoor medallist Muir was initially selected for both the women’s 800m and 1,500m events in Berlin but having suffered irritation to her Achilles following the Müller Anniversary Games, she took the decision on Monday night to focus on the 1,500m only.

Double European Champion Greg Rutherford decided to not compete in Berlin due to ongoing issues with his ankle. He will be competing next at the Birmingham Diamond League on Aug, 18.

Following all selected athletes for the European Championships:


  • Laura Muir (GBR) – 1,500m
  • Tatjana Pinto (GER) – 100m & 4×100 Relay
  • Jodie Williams (GBR) – 200m
  • Diana Sujew (GER) – 1,500m
  • Daryll Neita (GBR) – 100m & 4×100 Relay
  • Jemma Reekie (GBR) – 1,500m
  • Shannon Hilton (GBR) – 4×100 Relay


  • Chijindu Ujah (GBR) – 100m & 4×100 Relay
  • Marc Reuther (GER) – 800m
  • Ojie Edoburun (GBR) – 4×100 Relay

Related News

Latest News

Muir dominates her Season Opener in Eugene

It was a very successful day at the USATF Grand Prix in Eugene last weekend. Laura Muir won the women’s 1500m in 4:01.54,…

Read More

Nina Kennedy jumps a new Australian Record

Australian pole vaulter Nina Kennedy set a new Australian pole vault record of 4.82m at Sydney Track Classic. After several attempts over the…

Read More